Author Topic: I am new and have 3 questions.  (Read 9390 times)

krait44

• View Profile
I am new and have 3 questions.
« on: April 29, 2007, 09:44:05 AM »
I have been studying Chinese martial arts for a while 9-10 years and have done a few others along the way. I love and respect all martial arts.

I just purchased Attacking Blocks and Combining Stk and Ft. I am sincerely impressed. After a few years of doing Tai Chi sword I started to realize that something is going on here that is similar to Kali. The 8 lines of attack similarity was apparent but I had no basis to take that connection any further than that. Enter Dog Brothers; they translated the grammatical code of traditional weapons arts into an American taijitsu(kinesthetic language), so to speak. I am sure if anyone writes a book on martial arts in America the DB's will have a big chapter.

I am deeply grateful for this information and it has deepened my love of martial arts.

Questions:

1. I am definitely going to buy Kali-Tudo, does it have Hubud drills?

2. If not, Can anyone recommend a good Hubud DVD?

3. Are Cold Steels polypor escrima sticks any good? Have they been tested?

Thankyou,

Krait
Forewarned, forearmed; to be prepared is half the victory.
Miguel de Cervantes

bjung

• Power User
    • View Profile
Re: I am new and have 3 questions.
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 03:56:24 AM »
a bunch of views and no responses?

I can't answer your first question (although Kali Tudo is on my shopping list along with DLO...), though it may be worth checking out Guro Inosanto's series to see if hubud drills are there.