Author Topic: Different sticks for training  (Read 5307 times)

barna284

• View Profile
Different sticks for training
« on: November 17, 2008, 03:59:05 AM »
I am just starting out with FMA (Pekiti Tirsia), so bear with me if my questions are a bit newbie-ish.

I would like to know if it is common to use different sticks for different parts of training. The other day I saw that my instructor had sticks of different width & weight. I was given a lighter stick to perform the first warmup moves. However, when drilling basic attacks against tires, I used a thicker, heavier stick.

I was practicing a bit this weekend (can´t wait for my seconds class...), using a makeshift wooden stick with weight and width similar top the heavier stick I saw on class the other day. It was quite taxing on the hands and forearms, so I was wondering if perhaps I should use a lighter stick, being a newbie and all.

Kaju Dog

• Power User
  • organ donor
    • View Profile
Re: Different sticks for training
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2008, 06:57:37 AM »
I am just starting out with FMA (Pekiti Tirsia), so bear with me if my questions are a bit newbie-ish.

I would like to know if it is common to use different sticks for different parts of training. The other day I saw that my instructor had sticks of different width & weight. I was given a lighter stick to perform the first warmup moves. However, when drilling basic attacks against tires, I used a thicker, heavier stick.

I was practicing a bit this weekend (can´t wait for my seconds class...), using a makeshift wooden stick with weight and width similar top the heavier stick I saw on class the other day. It was quite taxing on the hands and forearms, so I was wondering if perhaps I should use a lighter stick, being a newbie and all.

IMHO, I would have to say ask your teacher.  Only he/she knows the path they have in mind to guide you along.  Give it time and do what your instructor asks of you. 

:wink: