Author Topic: Walking Sticks for Self Defense  (Read 10270 times)

Lance Carbuncle

• View Profile
Walking Sticks for Self Defense
« on: December 16, 2003, 10:33:33 AM »
Hello All,

I am a newbie to the stick fighting scene, and apologize if i am bringing up a spent topic. A recent viewing of the Dog Brothers videos really opened my eyes up to stick fighting, and the real world applications it represents.
Here is my scenario..... I travel to some out of the way places for scientific research purposes, and have more than once found myself in unfriendly situations in remote locations. I have often picked up a good walking stick on the trail in the thoughts of using it for self defense if needed.
Anyway, a walking stick seems acceptable to carry in all parts of the world, and is not looked at by most as a weapon. I have even boarded airplanes with one without a second look.
So my question is. If you guys with the experience were going to carry a stick that passed as a "walking stick" what would be the design?
Most true walking sticks are about 36"-40" A short staff would also be a possibility.
I am thinking about things like weight, diameter, material, balance, and taper. Would you want one with a weighed end for instance, or more balanced. Or would you just want a 4' piece of rattan or hardwood....?
I know some even like the cane.
I guess I am getting a little carried away with questions because I lack any real stickfighting knowledge.

Thanks in Advance, Lance

here are couple of "walking sticks" I found browsing the web.

http://www.ltspecpro.com/specpro/wast.html
http://www.ltspecpro.com/specpro/citystick.html

broesner

« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2003, 04:37:27 AM »
Lance

Check out www.canemasters.com.

There are a few more sites if you search, plus a mail group on Yahoo on canes for self defence.