Author Topic: DBMA Brazil  (Read 8009 times)

Crafty_Dog

• Administrator
  • Power User
    • View Profile
DBMA Brazil
« on: April 14, 2014, 01:21:20 PM »

Starting to settle in after nearly two weeks on the road.

First some words about my Brazil seminar: Due to unexpected visa problems at the airport in Buenos Aires, my intended seminar, to be hosted by DBMA Group Leader Diego Marroni, did not happen. This greatly inconvenienced many people who had made plans. I have been giving seminars since 1995 and this was the first time that anything like this had ever happened to me and I was deeply embarassed.

Since then, Diego, who is a doctor in Brazilian Army, was stationed elsewhere, and he handed off hosting the seminar to Daniel V. & Daniel C.

The seminar was rescheduled for January 2014, but when I separated my shoulder in December it had to be rescheduled-- for April. Some would have been deterred, but Daniel and Daniel stood by me and for that I am grateful.

Finally we held the seminar the first week of April-- and Diego was able to come up from his post in southern Brazil-- with my recovery incomplete from my shoulder separation it was very helpful to be able to point to him and ask him to demonstrate movements that would have been painful for me. Also attending were some instructors from other parts of the country.

D&D were considerate hosts ( who consistently fed me very well!) and a wonderful group was in attendance. As I looked around the room I saw many people showing solid Kali Silat skills, and thanks to Diego filling in last year in my absence, many of them already had a grasp of our Dos Triques material. D&D give credit to Mas Guro Paulo Albuquerque for the general level that I saw. I had the pleasure of meeeting with the very gracious Mas Guro Paulo (who trains the Brazilian equivalent of our Secret Service) who was kind enough to share some of his thinking on gun disarms with me.