Author Topic: silly question  (Read 6262 times)

Greenman

• View Profile
    • http://www.blankfacerecords.com
silly question
« on: April 04, 2005, 06:16:36 PM »
I'm relatively new to FMA/stick arts etc.  Every MA instructor I've ever had (TKD, Karate etc.) emphasized the need for a "kiap" or power shout when striking....Is this common in escrima/FMA?  I read in Mark Wiley's great book on Kalis Ilustrisimo that "the face should be expressionless" which makes sense, (you shouldn't telegraph emotions/grit the teeth etc).  In much of the footage I've seen of these arts being practiced, the players seem silent with the exception of heavy breathing and natural grunts of pain when stricken.  I know it might be a weird "newbie" question, but @ 6'3" and 275lbs. I feel that a shout or yell might serve to drive home a psychological point against an opponent in a real or controlled confrontation.  Can somebody weigh in on this and help clear up this mystery?
the way OUT is THROUGH

bart

• View Profile
    • http://www.capitaldocepares.com
Kiap
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 12:32:57 PM »
Hey There,

A shout might help. I certainly wouldn't rule it out during a fight. But imagine trying to do a shout for each strike in a 3 or 4 point combo that you're doing in less than a second. A kiap might actually detract during that. A lot of eskrima is done in a boxing method. Boxers might trash talk, growl, or make a noise here or there, but they generally don't kiap because it generally doesn't add much to what they do. I'd say give it a shot during sparring and then see if it works for you. I think it's going to have to go through some adjustment though before it will fit into your stick fighting.
Be Cool

------------------
Capital Doce Pares
www.capitaldocepares.com

Ryno

• View Profile
    • http://www.leskas.com/
noise
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2005, 01:39:30 PM »