Author Topic: Kenpo Karate?  (Read 10108 times)

jaydogg72

• View Profile
Kenpo Karate?
« on: February 16, 2006, 07:08:34 AM »
Anyone here train in any form of Kenpo/Kempo/Kenbojukan? I am interested in this art for self defense....

ponytotts

• Power User
    • View Profile
Kenpo Karate?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2006, 07:44:05 AM »
i studied kajukenpo under sling patterson for 2 years in tx. as i understand it(correct me if im wrong),  it is one of the early "Blending" styles. i enjoyed it @ the time, but it is a "hard" style and the focus is on power. long strong stances, traditional japanese punching. board breaking("boards dont hit back") :D
 i had studied a traditional karate style as a kid, so it was a good transition. i remember allot of self defense patterns (i.e. when this happens do this).   i dont want 2 start a  one style is better than the other debate, but i have found some of the other styles i studied more practical.( shaolin k.f., f.m.a., jkd).
i wanna make 2 points b4 i end my 2cents. (1) i studied kajukenpo 15 years ago and i dont know how much the style has evolved since then.
(2) i did have 2 use it (kjkpo) on the street a couple of times and i t saved my a"%!
i think the question that u have 2 ask yourself is, what r u looking 4 N a martial art? what do u want 2 get out of it?

bzarnett

• View Profile
    • http://www.sphereofinfluence.ca
Kenpo Karate?
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2006, 07:55:38 AM »
I studied American Kenpo for about 15 years I guess. Kenpo can be a great art but you need to find a good teacher who practices it in a functional manner - with progressive resistance, etc. Kenpo can be useful or useless depending on how its taught and how you train it.

You can do all the Kenpo self-defense techniques from Five Swords to Twirling Mace but it won't equate to being able to protect yourself if you never work it against someone trying to resist you.

Then again, the above statement goes for any martial art system and coach.